Hate on the Net can be effectively combated by well-crafted legal norms, trained authorities and cooperation with Internet services.

The tragic death of Lisa-Maria Kellermayer

The case of Lisa-Maria Kellermayer has caused international attention:

Not only did the physician go unheard with her discovery of a drug to treat covid, but she was pelted with hate mail and threatened with death for her advocacy of meaningful covid measures.

The Upper Austrian police had not only misjudged the situation, but through their police spokesperson had imputed profiling intentions](https://twitter.com/florianklenk/status/1542761620446879746) to the victim in a [gloating manner and accused her of false reporting.

She did not receive adequate police protection and became the target of fanatical vaccination opponents.

Lisa-Maria Kellermayer not only had to close her practice because of the threat to her safety and the apparent failure of the authorities to ensure her safety, the lack of protection drove her to suicide in late July 2022.

Nikolaus Forgo pointed out in ZIB 2 of August 4, 2022 some failures and pointed out the lack of legal prudence with regard to EU law, which make the Austrian Hate on the Net Fighting Act - HiNBG look pale in the case of Lisa-Maria Kellermeyer. As can be seen now at the latest, it promised too much1 without crafting what it promised and making it logically implementable2.

Action points

Here follow three obvious and simple action points to effectively combat hate online.

While it is true that law enforcement on the Internet and the darknet is not easy. However, neither is a legal vacuum.

The prerequisite for action on the Internet is the existence of quite ordinary legal facts. Surprisingly, there seems to be a lack of suitable simple criminal offenses for the correct recording and prosecution of such hate crimes.

Unclear local jurisdiction

In fact, the place of sending the hate mail (from Germany) was considered by the Austrian criminal authorities to be the reason for their lack of jurisdiction – and therefore nothing further was done. In spite of the multiple cruel death threats, there is a discussion among lawyers still (!!!) with reference to various legal commentaries, whether the authorities could have acted earlier!

➔ If even top lawyers still argue afterwards, it is not surprising that simple police authorities remained inactive. Thus some facts belong renovated and/or new ones introduced, in order to create here from the outset legal clarity.

Jurisdiction only by death

It can hardly be surpassed in absurdity that the public prosecutor’s office in Wels only considers itself competent through the death of Ms. Doctor Kellermayer and became active.

➔ If this should indeed turn out to be in accordance with the law, it will obviously have to be changed quickly.

No insult possible through insulting e-mails

Furthermore, the criminal offense of insult under Section 115 of the Criminal Code requires the presence of several persons, so that a simple e-mail, no matter how severe and heinous the threats it may contain, is not sufficient for this purpose.

➔ Serious insult must also be punishable as such by e-mail.

No defamation of deceased persons

Finally, vituperation and mockery of deceased persons are not punishable because the criminal offense of defamation against deceased persons has been abolished.

➔ The vituperation of deceased persons must be punishable again.

It is difficult to comprehend and in no way excusable that there are such regulatory loopholes at the core of the rule of law. This is simply a technical failure of legal policy and definitely not a problem of Internet invulnerability or technical limitations.

2. Train police authorities (Executive Awareness)

In view of the reaction of the police authorities in Upper Austria, it can be assumed that the training of police officers in Austria is by no means better than in Germany.

There, Jan Böhmermann tested and examined police failure and lack of awareness in a quasi experiment, with a disastrous result. Officers demanded ID cards instead of recording the reports anonymously or simply rejected the reports a limine because of alleged lack of jurisdiction or lack of criminal liability.

➔ Instead of creating a new authority, the existing officers on the ground need to be focused and prudently trained in direct contact with the population and strengthened with persons trained in specific areas.

It is evident from this list that the possible tardiness or lack of accessibility of social media providers comes only in third place. If there is already a lack of meaningful criminal offenses and technically knowledgeable authorities, it does not seem justifiable to blame these providers first or to hold them liable regardless of EU rules.

➔ It would be better to involve the Internet service providers in an open cooperative dialogue and to create common mechanisms supported by expertise, instead of propagating direct harsh legal measures (or even stupid automatic filters), which lack expertise to boot…

Obituary for Lisa-Maria Kellermayer

Unfortunately, this all comes too late for Lisa-Maria Kellermayer, if it comes at all. The ignorance and insubstantiality of the reactions of Austrian politicians unfortunately does not suggest that anything will improve here.

With correct criminal offenses, trained representatives of the authorities, and proactive digital governance, hate on the net can be effectively combated.


  1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Promise_theory ↩︎

  2. https://www.amazon.com/Logical-Thinking-Process-Systems-Approach/dp/0873897234 ↩︎

Hass im Netz kann durch handwerklich gut gemachte Rechtsnormen, geschulte Behörden und Kooperation mit Internetdiensten wirksam bekämpft werden.

Der tragische Tod von Lisa-Maria Kellermayer

Der Fall Lisa-Maria Kellermayer hat international Aufsehen erregt:

Die Ärztin blieb nicht nur mit ihrer Entdeckung eines Medikaments zur Behandlung von Covid ungehört, sondern wurde wegen ihres Einsatzes für sinnvolle Covid-Massnahmen mit Hassmails zugeschütttet und mit dem Tod bedroht.

Die oberösterreichische Polizei hatte die Lage nicht nur falsch eingeschätzt sondern durch ihren Polizeisprecher dem Opfer in hämisch wirkender Weise Profilierungsabsichten unterstellt und sie einer Falschmeldung bezichtigt.

Sie erhielt keinen angemessenen Polizeischutz und wurde zum Ziel von fanatischen Impfgegnern.

Lisa-Maria Kellermayer musste wegen der Bedrohung ihrer Sicherheit und wegen des offenkundigen Versagens der Behörde zur Gewährleistung ihrer Sicherheit nicht nur ihre Praxis schliessen, der mangelnde Schutz hat sie Ende Juli 2022 in den Suizid getrieben.

Nikolaus Forgo hat in der ZIB 2 vom 4. August 2022 einige Versäumnisse aufgezeigt und auf die mangelnde rechtliche Umsicht im Hinblick auf das EU-Recht hingewiesen, die das österreichische Hass-im-Netz-Bekämpfungs-Gesetz – HiNBG im Fall Lisa-Maria Kellermeyer blass aussehen lassen. Wie sich spätestens jetzt zeigt, hat es zuviel versprochen1, ohne das Versprochene handwerklich abzusichern und logisch umsetzungsfähig zu gestalten2.

Aktionspunkte

Hier folgen drei offensichtliche und einfache Aktionspunkte, die Hass im Netz effektiv bekämpfbar machen.

1. Rechtstatbestände schärfen (Gesetzgebende Klarheit)

Zwar ist es richtig, dass die Rechtsverfolgung im Internet und im Darknet nicht einfach ist. Beide sind aber kein rechtsfreier Raum.

Voraussetzung für ein Tätigwerden sind auch im Internet ganz gewöhnliche rechtliche Tatbestände. Erstaunlicherweise fehlt es offenbar an geeigneten einfachen Straftatbeständen zur korrekten Erfassung und Verfolgung solcher Hasstatbestände.

Örtliche Zuständigkeit und sogenannte «Erfolgsdelikte»

Von den öStrafbehörden wurde tatsächlich der Ort des Absendens des Hassmails (in Deutschland) als ihre Unzuständigkeit begründend angesehen – und deshalb nichts weiter unternommen. Trotz der mehrfachen grausamen Morddrohungen wird unter Juristinnen und Juristen immer noch (!!!) mit Hinweis auf verschiedene Rechtskommentare diskutiert, ob die Behörden früher hätten tätig werden können!

➔ Wenn sich selbst Topjuristen im Nachhinein noch streiten, verwundert es nicht, dass einfache Polizeibehörden untätig bleiben. Somit gehören einige Tatbestände renoviert bzw. neue eingeführt, um hier von Anfang an rechtliche Klarheit zu schaffen.

Zuständigkeit erst durch Tod

Es ist an Absurdität kaum zu überbieten, dass sich die Staatsanwaltschaft Wels erst durch den Tod von Frau Doktor Kellermayer für zuständig hält und tätig wurde.

➔ Sollte sich dies tatsächlich als rechtskonform darstellen, so muss es offenbar rasch geändert werden.

Keine Beleidigung durch beleidigende E-Mails möglich

Weiters setzt der Straftatbestand der Beleidigung nach § 115 StGB die Gegenwart von mehreren Personen voraus, so dass eine einfache E-Mail, möge sie noch so schwere und abscheuliche Drohungen enthalten, dafür nicht reicht.

➔ Schwere Beleidigung muss auch per E-Mail als solche strafbar sein.

Keine Ehrverletzung gegenüber verstorbenen Personen

Schliesslich sind Schmähungen und Verhöhnungen von Verstorbenen nicht strafbar, weil der Straftatbestand der Ehrverletzung gegenüber Verstorbenen abgeschafft worden ist.

➔ Die Schmähung von Verstorbenen muss wieder strafbar sein.

Es ist schwer zu begreifen und in keiner Weise entschuldbar, dass es im rechtstaatlichen Kern derartige Regelungslücken gibt. Das ist einfach ein handwerkliches Versäumnis der Rechtspolitik und definitiv kein Problem der Unangreifbarkeit des Internets oder von technischen Beschränkungen.

2. Polizeibehörden schulen (Exekutive Aufmerksamkeit)

Angesichts der Reaktion der Polizeibehörden in Oberösterreich ist zu vermuten, dass es um die Schulung von Polizeibeamtinnen und -beamten in Österreich keineswegs besser bestellt ist als in Deutschland.

Dort hat Jan Böhmermann das Polizeiversagen und das mangelndes Bewusstsein quasi in einem Experiment erprobt und untersucht, mit einem desaströsen Ergebnis. Beamtinnen und Beamte verlangten Ausweise anstatt die Anzeigen anonym aufzunehmen oder lehnten die Anzeigen schlichtweg a limine wegen behaupteter Unzuständigkeit oder fehlender Strafbarkeit ab.

➔ Anstatt eine neue Behörde zu schaffen müssen die bestehenden Beamtinnen und Beamten vor Ort im direkten Kontakt mit der Bevölkerung fokussiert und umsichtig geschult und mit schwerpunktmässig ausgebildeten Personen verstärkt werden.

3. Rechtliche Massnahmen im Austausch mit Social-Media Anbietern umsetzen (Digitale Governance)

Es zeigt sich bei dieser Auflistung, dass die mögliche Säumigkeit oder mangelnde Erreichbarkeit von Social-Media Anbietern erst an dritter Stelle kommt. Wenn schon sinnvolle Straftatbestände und fachlich kundige Behörden fehlen, erscheint es nicht rechtfertigbar, diesen Anbietern zuerst die Schuld zuzuweisen oder sie unabhängig von EU-Regeln haftbar zu machen.

➔ Besser wäre es, die Internet-Dienstleister in einen offenen kooperativen Dialog einzubeziehen und gemeinsame, von Sachverstand getragene Mechanismen zu schaffen, anstatt direkte harte rechtliche Massnahmen zu propagieren (oder gar dumme automatische Filter zu propagieren), denen es noch dazu an Sachkunde fehlt…

Nachruf auf Lisa-Maria Kellermayer

Für Lisa-Maria Kellermayer kommt das leider alles zu spät, falls es überhaupt kommt. Die Ignoranz und Substanzlosigkeit der Reaktionen österreichischer Politiker lässt leider nicht vermuten, dass sich hier etwas bessert.

Mit korrekten Straftatbeständen, geschulten Behördenvertretern und einer proaktiven digitalen Governance kann Hass im Netz wirksam bekämpft werden.


  1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Promise_theory ↩︎

  2. https://www.amazon.com/Logical-Thinking-Process-Systems-Approach/dp/0873897234 ↩︎